Ravens Roundup: March 2023

(Pictured above: Girls' Varsity Squash takes home the New England Preparatory School Athletic Council (NEPSAC) Championship in February.)


Congratulations to Girls’ Varsity Squash for grabbing the New England Championship in the Class D Division after entering the tournament as the seventh seed. Kudos to Charlotte West for finishing in first place in her flight. 

Congratulations to Girls’ Varsity Ice Hockey for securing the EIL Championship while remaining undefeated in conference play. The team also qualified for the Dorothy Howard tournament, finishing in the top 6 among NEPSAC small schools. The Ravens ultimately fell one goal short against the eventual champions from New Hampton School. It was the first NEPSAC playoff appearance for the team. (Girls' Varsity Hockey team pictured below.)


Daniella Gasso ’24 Named All-American Wrestler

Raven wrestler Daniella Gasso ’24 earned All-American status for the second consecutive year at the 87th Annual National Prep Wrestling tournament in Maryland. She was joined at the tournament by teammates Mary Adams ’24 and Merritt Coward ’23. (Pictured l-f below: Daniella Gasso '24, Merritt Coward '23 and Mary Adams '24). 


Eastern Independent League Honors for Winter Sports

From Coach and Co-Player of The Year to All-League honors and honorable mentions, the Eastern Independent League recognized our Portsmouth Abbey Ravens in several significant ways. Below is a list of achievements for our winter athletes and coaches.

Boys’ Basketball

Coach of the Year: Clarence Chenoweth (Pictured below at the January 20 game vs. Concord).

All-League Selections: Bernard Dushie ’23 and Charlie Townsend ’24


Girls’ Basketball

All-League Selection: Dami Opawumi ’23

Girls’ Squash

All-League Selections: Alessandra Cristiani ’24 and Charlotte West ’24

Girls’ Ice Hockey


Co-Player of the Year: Ashtyn Bringardner ’23

All-League Selections: Ashtyn Bringardner ’23, Isabella DiReda ’23 and Danielle Longuemare ’23

All-League Honorable Mentions: Sara DeSousa ’23 and Erin McNamara ’23


All-League Selections: Dino De Marzio ’26, Connor Lynn ’23, Thomas O’Hara ’24, Atticus Bonny ’24, Sean Oh ’24 and Garrett Roskelly ’23.

Holt Conference Accolades

Boys’ Ice Hockey finished first in the Holt Conference during the regular season before coming up short in the conference championship game. Ravens forward Josh Bonrouhi ’23, defenseman Jack Baird ’23 and goalie Patrick McDevitt ’24 were named to the All-Conference Team.