Student-athletes Recognized for Winter Term 2019-20 Achievements


Winter Athletics Awards 2019-2020

Boys' Basketball
Coach's Award (Boys): Shane Hoey ’20
MIP: John Boudreau ’20
Captains: Luke Fonts ’21, Joseph Parella ’21

Girls' Basketball
The Pfeffer Cup: Kate Driscoll ’20
MIP: Meghan Farnham ’21
Captains: Meghan Farnham ’21, Julia Sisk ’21

Boys' Ice Hockey
The Andrew M. Hunt and Carol Meehan Hunt Boys and Girls Hockey Award:  
Will Crowley ’20, Dean Simeone ’20
MIP: Michael Patko ’23
Captains: Markus Keller ’21, Alex Leef ’21, Aidan McAvoy ’21

Girls' Ice Hockey
The Andrew M. Hunt and Carol Meehan Hunt Boys and Girls Hockey Award:
Lily Hovasse ’20
MIP: Claire Fink ’22
Captains: Avery Korzeniowski ’21, Lulu LePage ’21, Lillee Dougherty ’22
*EIL Champions 3-2 over Berwick, Double OT

Squash (Boys)
Carlos Xavier Araujo ’96 Memorial Squash Award: Matthew Liuzza ’20
MIP:  William Hurlbut ’23
Captain: Marco Cristiani ’21
*New England Class E Champions

Squash (Girls)
Coach's Award: Laila Fahmy ’20
MIP: Hannah Best ’22
Captains: Lily Sones, Hannah Best ’22

Coach's Award: Owen Brine ’20
MIP: Danny McKenna ’20
Captains: Blake Rossiter ’22, Darrell Opoku-Kwateng ’22


Winter JV Awards 2019-2020

The Portsmouth Abbey Junior Varsity Award is given to the athlete who best demonstrates the spirit of Abbey Athletics. The award recognizes hard work, individual improvement, sportsmanship and a willingness to do what is best for the team.

B JV A Basketball Award: Chris Dring’21                         

Boys JV B Basketball Award: Truman Curtis’23        

Girls JV Basketball Award: Dami Opawumi ’23                  

G JV Squash Award: Isabel Altamirano ’22                      

B JV Squash Award: Peter Dwyer ’20                                   

Coed JVB  Squash (Boys) Award: Andrew Liu ’21             

Coed JVB Squash (Girls) Award: Alexandra Bordelon ’22            

Boys JV Ice Hockey Award: Nick Flanigan ’21                    

Girls JV Ice Hockey: Beau Fenley ’21                                  

JV Wrestling: Blake Rossiter ’22        

Winter 2019-2020 Post Season Awards

Boys Basketball - EIL All-League:
Shane Hoey ’20
Luke Fonts ’21, Honorable Mention

Girls Basketball - EIL All-League:
Nicole Huyer ’20
Kate Driscoll ’20, Honorable Mention

Girls Ice Hockey - EIL Champions
Lily Hovasse ’20
Lulu Lepage ’21
Dani Longuemare '23
Jacque Martin '22, Honorable Mention
Bella DiReda '23, Honorable Mention

Boys Squash - Class E New England Champions

Girls Squash - EIL All-League:
Ashley Breyer '20
Laila Fahmy '20, Honorable Mention

Wrestling - EIL All-League:
Owen Brine ’20, Third Place New England, Qualified Prep School National Tournament
Kene Ogbuefi ’22
Danny McKenna ’20, Honorable Mention
Garrett Roskelly ’23, Honorable Mention
Mauricio Garcia Gojon ’20, Honorable Mention
David Yuan ’23, Honorable Mention

Watch the action in our Winter 2019-20 Athletics slideshow:

Winter 19-20 Athletics Slideshow