Winter Sports Awards 2023

View Full Album

While spring athletics are off and running, we would like to congratulate the student athletes and coaches who were recognized at the Winter Sports Awards in March.

Boys' Basketball  

Coach’s Trophy: Bernard Dushie '23

MIP: Obi Onwudiwe '23

Captains-Elect: Slade Crouse '24 and Charlie Townsend '24

Overall record: 14-9  EIL Record: 7-4, 4th Place in EIL  

EIL All League: Bernard Dushie and Charlie Townsend

EIL Honorable Mention: Max Osei-Assibey '24

All NEPSAC Team: Bernard Dushie  

NEPSAC HM: Charlie Townsend  

Coach of the Year: Clarence Chenoweth  


Girls' Basketball  

The Pfeffer Cup: Sarah Edwards '23

MIP: Jenny Rivera '26

Captain Elect: Grace Connaughton '24

Overall Record: 5-13  EIL Record: 2-7 

EIL All League: Dami Opawumi '23

EIL Honorable Mention: Grace Connaughton 


Boys' Ice Hockey  

The Andrew M. Hunt and Carol Meehan Hunt Boys' and Girls' Hockey Trophy: Jack Baird '23 and Michael Patko '23

MIP: Jack Lucey '23

Captains-Elect: Chris Hahn '24, Patrick McDevitt '24 and Luke Stock '24

Overall Record: 13-11-3   HOLT Record: 8-2-2   

HOLT All League: Josh Bonrouhi '23, Jack Baird and Patrick McDevitt  


Girls' Hockey  

The Andrew M. Hunt and Carol Meehan Hunt Boys' and Girls' Hockey Trophy (Career): Isabella DiReda '23

MIP (Most Impactful Season): Ashtyn Bringardner '23

Captains-Elect:  Lucy Verderber '24 and Zoe Rosenberg '24 Assistant Captains-Elect: Mila Smith '24 and Sophia Capone '24

Overall Record 19-5-3, Qualified for Dorothy Howard Small School Tournament  

EIL Record: 9-0-0 EIL Champions 

EIL All League: Ashtyn Bringardner, Isabella DiReda and Danielle Longuemare '23

EIL Honorable Mention: Sara DeSousa '23 and Erin McNamara '23

EIL Co-Player of the Year: Ashtyn Bringardner  


Boys' Squash 

Carlos Xavier Araujo '96 Memorial Trophy: Will Hurlbut '23

MIP: Fletcher Reilly '23

Captains-Elect: Austin Zhao '24 and Victor Xu '24

Overall Record: 10-7 


Girls' Squash  

Coaches Trophy: Charlotte West '24

MIP: Bella No '24

Captains-Elect: Mary Davidson '24 and Charlotte West 

Overall Record: 9-6 2023   New England Prep School Class D Champions   EIL Record 4-2  

EIL All League: Charlotte West and Alessandra Cristiani '24

EIL Honorable Mention: Alexis Dahlberg '23



Coach’s Trophy: Garrett Roskelly '23 

MIP: Sean Oh '24

Captains-Elect: Daniella Gasso '24, Tommy O’Hara '24, Sean Oh  

Overall Record: 17-9  EIL Record: 6-2 

EIL All League: Dino De Marzio '25, Connor Lynn '23, Tommy O’Hara, Sean Oh, Atticus Bonny '24, Garrett Roskelly  

EIL Honorable Mention: Daniella Gasso, Dahmaux Kouassi-Brou '23, Tiger Li '24, Jason Xing '26 

All Americans: Daniella Gasso  


JV Awards 

The Portsmouth Abbey Junior Varsity Award is given to the athlete who best demonstrates the spirit of Abbey Athletics. The award recognizes hard work, individual improvement, sportsmanship, and a willingness to do what is best for the team. 

Boys' JVA Basketball: Jonathan Karongo '24

Boys' JVB Basketball: Max Varteresian '25

Girls' JV Basketball: Rebecca Osei-Assibey '26

Girls' JVA Squash: Regan Landers '24

Boys' JVA Squash: Felix Cristiani Delpree '26

Girls' JVB Squash: Monique Hwang '24

Boys' JVB Squash: Jack Forbes '26

Girls' JV Hockey: Marina McKeating '23

Boys' JV Hockey: Liam Barry '23 and Osinachi Onwudiwe '25

JV Wrestling: Aidan Sainte '25